Dunstable Town Cricket Club was officially founded in 1891, although during our research into it's history, records were found of matches played before that date. In it's early years the Club
lived a somewhat 'nomadic' existence in that it did not have ground of it's own. Various local businesses, Cross Paperware and Bagshaw's were two who leased or rented their facilities to the Club at
weekends. They also played matches at the local grammar school, particularly during the school holidays - in those days, of course, all schools played cricket during term time.
It was not until 1951 that the Club bought it's own ground at Bull Pond Lane, Dunstable. This was only possible as a result of the generosity of a few of the 'wealthier' members of the Club who
contributed interest free loans which enabled the purchase of the site for £500!! To those people, we owe an enormous debt of gratitude - their foresight lead directly to the Club subsequently being
able to sell the Bull Pond Lane site and move to the superb facility that we now have at Lancot Park. The last game played at Bull Pond Lane was in September 1992 and the first game at Lancot Park in
The Club has always prided itself on a vibrant 'junior' section, with coaching of the highest standards. Over the years we have developed many fine cricketers including Tim Robinson who
subsequently played for Nottinghamshire and England and is now a 1st class umpire. Monty Panesar also played for the club before moving to Northamptonshire, Sussex, and England.
Our latest prodigy is Robbie Keogh who is now a regular member of the Northamptonshire 1st XI .